Diane Smith Media



President of Diane Smith Media

An Emmy award winning TV journalist, radio talk show host, New York Times Bestselling author and speaker, Diane Smith has been on the air in Connecticut since 1982.

Diane is the anchor and senior producer for program development at CTN, the Connecticut version of C-SPAN. She works to promote transparency in government and to increase citizen engagement in their democracy.

The Globe Pequot Press has published six books based on Diane’s “Positively Connecticut” TV series, the longest running local TV series in state history.

Diane’s newest book, Obsessed-America’s Food Addiction and My Own, Co-authored with MSNBC Morning Joe co-host Mika Brzezinski, is a New York Times Bestseller. The book is about solving the American obesity crisis. “Obsessed” was published in May 2013 by Weinstein Books.

Diane was an Emmy winning news reporter and anchor on WTNH-TV in New Haven, and co-hosted the Morning Show on WTIC-Newstalk1080. She is a frequent on air contributor to CT Public Television (CPTV), producing and hosting award winning documentaries and other programming.

Diane is the president of Diane Smith Media, which produces documentaries, as well as programs and videos primarily for non-profits.

She serves on the board of the World Affairs Council and is on the advisory council of the non-partisan Women’s Campaign School at Yale. Diane was appointed by the CT Secretary of the State to the Civic Health Advisory Board, and she was appointed by the Governor to serve on the Connecticut Commission to Commemorate the Civil War.

Diane has been honored with the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Culture and Tourism for her outstanding lifetime achievements and contributions to the arts and tourism in Connecticut. The Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame honored Diane in October 2012 as a woman of “Voice and Vision”.

In November 2012 Diane was inducted into the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Silver Circle for 25 years of distinguished service to broadcasting and the community. Diane was awarded an honorary doctorate from Charter Oak College.